Is console app fun?

Muhammet Kandemir
3 min readDec 22, 2020

Hello dear guest, I will explain everything about why console app is fun by using C#. So go on.

Everyone likes to start the programming with a console app. It helps us to understand how to work a program and how to design a algorithm. But it is hard to tell these to students. You probably agree with me if you are a student. In this story, I will try to teach that console app is amazing and helpful to learn algorithm on a fun way.

Let’s start how you can improve on programming with the console app. Firstly, you need to understand console app is not just for junior developer. I am a senior developer and I’m still using console app for some scenarios. To make it clear, many services which works on background like e-mail sender, notification sender, calculating some things at specific moments is written by using console app on Linux. Also, your logs is saved with a basic command you know. It is “Console.WriteLine” in C# or “printf” in C or anything else according to the programming language. You don’t need to force yourself to fix a problem on a genius way to show you’re a professional developer. Actually, it mentions that you still should improve yourself with more project. Secondly, you can do as many examples as possible to be senior developer easily. I’ll explain that on giving example about C#. Most of us know that C# essentially is used with Visual Studio. But its size too much and your pc is not enough to run it unless your pc has powerful hardwares like Intel I3 CPU, 8GB RAM. There is one way to solve this problem which is Visual Studio Code. I can’t say that it is better than Visual Studio but it’s requirements less as hardware. So we can create a console app on Visual Studio Code and start to write our code. However, don’t forget you must know how to use terminal. Visual Studio provides us many things on an easier way which doesn’t include terminal but it causes more size and performance problem. If we want to write a program without Visual Studio, we must learn terminal. It’s very simple and it is not hard to learn. There is already one command to create a console app that “dotnet new console”. Let’s examine this on a screen shot;

I knew we could do it! Now, we have a console app. We can do anything we want! Wait Ellon, we’re coming!

Enough, time to move on. We have a console app and we can start to write the code. I’m not wait for you to complete what I want. I just explain and I wait to examine my example carefully. So what are we going to do? Good question, you know what you should ask. We’re going to write a console app which has an ellipse animation. I know you love this word, animation. So how can we do that? Time to code.

You can try it and see the results. I am sure you’ll enjoy. Also, There is one thing you should do that you should run in on CMD. Because if you are not expert on Linux or Windows, it won’t work correctly. Just open CMD on windows and run it.

--

--

Muhammet Kandemir
0 Followers

Read writing from Muhammet Kandemir on Medium. I am a Senior Backend Developer and I was born in 1995. I’ve been working since 2014. I also like to share my exp